Connect with us


IPL 2021: Shane Watson draws comparison between Glenn McGrath and Josh Hazlewood



Ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 final, a former Australian cricket Shane Watson made comparisons among fellow Australians Glenn McGrath i Josh Hazlewood. Watson explained what made this effective in conditions in the UAE.

Also check: IPL live scores | Table of IPL points | IPL schedule

Josh Hazlewood will be among the key players of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK), who will play against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the finals of the tournament in Dubai on Friday. Watson told Star Sports’ Select Dugout:

“For me, what I loved about Josh Hazelwood is his control of the ball that springs from his fingers, and that’s in line with what Glenn McGrath did. The control that he (McGrath) has about how much the ball swings or which side the seams move on, Josh had it since he was little, so that was one of the comparisons for me. “

Josh Hazlewood has nine gates from eight games averaging 29.3, which is 8.5 runs.

Josh Hazlewood is hard to play in UAE conditions: Shane Watson

Great of all time, Glenn McGrath is considered to be probably the greatest fast bowler, who excelled with the ball in different conditions.

Emphasizing the control and accuracy that Glenn McGrath had, Shane Watson compared this to Josh Hazlewood and explained how the latter can make a difference in UAE conditions with his ability to control ball movement. He said:

“Yes, Glenn McGrath, his precision, over and over again his ability to repeat it is always something that didn’t have a lot of fast bowlers. But that’s one of the similarities for me to Josh Hazelwood. Just his control of the ball coming out of his hand, so when he has a little dew in the petal or with a brand new ball, he’s incredibly good just at being able to get something out of the pawn. “

Watson added:

“Only with enough variation or with enough little things from a pedestrian or something in the air, which means it’s very difficult to play in these conditions as well.”

CSK, three-time IPL champions, advanced to their ninth IPL finals. They last won the 2018 tournament when Shane Watson won a century in the tournament final against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH).

Phase 2 #IPL2021 #IPLinUAE
Bowlers with the most recognized ..
points: 85 – Varun Chakravarthy
1s: 86 – Varun Chakravarthy
2s: 20 – Arshdeep Singh
3s: 4 – Mustafizur Rahman
4s: 27 – Josh Hazlewood
6s: 12 – Josh HazlewoodWides: 13 – Dwayne Bravo
No Balls: 4 – Prasidh Krishna

Edited by Ritwik Kumar

live survey

Q. Can CSK win its fourth IPL trophy?

11 votes so far

Rate this article!

Thank you!