Connect with us


T20 World Cup 2021, Semi-final 2: Australia breaks Pakistan’s winning streak in UAE and 5 other interesting stat facts




Australia beat Pakistan with five passes to Dubai to reach the finals of the T20 2021 World Cup, where they will meet New Zealand on Sunday.

Matthew Wade,, David Warner, Marcus Stoinis and Adam Zampa were the stars of Australia’s victory.

Matthew Wade evoked memories of Michael Hussey’s classic from the 2010 T20 World Cup semifinals between the two sides. He scored a hat-trick of six against Shaheen Afridi to bring Australia home.

As the match progressed, several boards were carved and some were torn down. Here are some of the most interesting statistics and facts from the Australia-Pakistan semifinals.

String No. 1 of Pakistan from the UAE ends

In November 2015, Pakistan tied with England in Sharjah before losing a game in the Super Over. Since then, Pakistan has won 16 consecutive T20Is in the UAE before Australia broke the string on Thursday.

It is the second longest winning streak of any side in the country. Afghanistan holds first place after winning 17 consecutive matches in the UAE before losing to Pakistan in the Super 12s last month.

Earlier on Thursday, Pakistan announced 176 – the highest score at the International Stadium in Dubai in the ongoing tournament. The record was short-lived as Australia raced for the total.

Mike Hussey forced Australia to win the semifinals of the 2010 T20 World Cup, helping them chase 75 out of the final five overs, a World Cup record. On Thursday, Australia scored 62 goals from the last five overtimes and won the game with a reserve.

# 2 Pakistani Mohammad Rizwan achieves a unique feat

” alt=”Mohammad Rizwan in action for Pakistan against Australia – ICC Men T20, 2021 World Cup Semifinals.” width=”1920″ height=”1225″ data-img=”” data-img-low=”” />
Mohammad Rizwan in action for Pakistan against Australia – ICC semifinals of the 2021 T20 Men’s World Cup.

Mohammad Rizwan was in the hospital ahead of the semi-finals as questionnaires hovered over his availability. Not only did he get back into the game, but he scored the best goal for Pakistan with 67. By doing so, Rizwan became the first hitter to collect over 1000 T20I runs in a calendar year.

With 1,033 runs averaging 86.1 and a stroke rate of 136.5, Mohammad Rizwan registered 11 fifty plus results in 2021, including one hundred.

Mohammad Rizwan (281 runs) is also the second biggest runner in this tournament, behind his captain Babar Azam (303 runs).

# 3 Babar Azam and David Warner join the 2,500 club

Only eight hitters crossed 2,500 runs in the T20I, and Babar Azam became the fastest to do so by passing Virat Kohli’s record.

Virat Kohli had 68 innings to reach the goal, Babar Azam hit the landmark by six innings less.

later in the day, David Warner he became the newest player at the club, and it took him 87 innings to get there, which is 25 innings more than Babar Azam.

# 4 Shadab Khan’s Day

Shadab Khan’s incredible 4-0-26-4 spell almost turned the match in Pakistan’s favor. The footballer entered the best bowling alley ever in the semifinals of the T20 World Cup.

It is only the second draw with four locks in the knockout or final of the T20 World Cup, and the first was four for 12 Ajanthe Mendis at the 2014 T20 World Cup.

# 5 When you’re in Dubai, win a throw and a ball

Since October 2021, Dubai has hosted 19 T20 matches, and apart from the daily match between New Zealand and Scotland and the IPL final, all 17 matches were won by the teams that were chasing.

# 6 Pattern of Australia and New Zealand

Who would have thought that Trans-Tasman rivals – Australia and New Zealand – would meet in the final of the T20 World Cup in Dubai? Both ocean teams entered the finals thanks to their midfielders.

Semifinal trips at the T20 World Cup 2021

  • – New Zealand scored 60 of the last five certifications and received it with a backup certification
  • – Australia has achieved 62 of its last five certifications and won it with a backup certification

Six years difference: 2009 – AUS – NZ finals at Champions Trophy 2015 – AUS – NZ finals at ODI World Cup 2021 – AUS against NZ finals at T20 World Cup



Profile image