Dzumhur, who reached the No. 23 ranking of his professional career in 2018, was serving 5-5, 40-40 in the opening set against Botic van de Zandschulp when the line judge summoned a hand from his Dutch opponent.
Dzumhur approached the chair referee asking for the call to be canceled, but it proved futile and he lost his temper. He subsequently lost the service game to the 6-5 trail.
An enraged Dzumhur continued to protest with the chair referee during the point change and received a code violation. After returning to the court, he said something to the referee again during the next match and received a points penalty.
The world number 125 went off the court, threw his racket into his bag and touched his fists with Van de Zandschulp indicating his intention to stop playing.
As Zandschulp walked away with his bag, Dzumhur had an argument with the tournament supervisor, but continued to talk angrily to the chair referee.
“In a second-round qualifying match in Acapulco, Damir Dzumhur received two code violations for unsportsmanlike conduct, and his failure to continue the match resulted in a mistake,” the ATP said in a statement.
“In addition to a total fine of $ 6,500, Dzumhur loses the second round qualifying prize of $ 5,280.
“Following the sanctions imposed in situ, an additional investigation will be initiated under the provision on major offense of the player under the ATP rules,” the male governing body added.
- Is Wallpapering A Whole Room A Good Idea? June 30, 2022
- The Best Way to Cool Your Space June 30, 2022
- 7 Vital Home Maintenance Tasks You’ll Regret If You Forget June 30, 2022
- Why the Roller Skates are best for Short Trips June 30, 2022
- How To Know When To Hire A Lawyer June 30, 2022